Paper Presentation

HVDC and Offshore Wind Park Connection


Chair: Gert Schwarzbach

50Hertz, Germany



Low Frequency High Voltage Offshore Grid for Transmission of Renewable Power

Wilfried Fischer (50Hertz Transmission, Germany),  Rainer Braun (Deutsche Bahn Energie, Germany), and István Erlich (University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany)


Reactive Power Compensation in Hybrid AC/DC Networks for Smart Grid Applications

Ahmed Mohamed (Florida International University, USA), Vahid Salehi (Florida International University, USA), and Osama Mohammed (Florida International University, USA)


Experimental Implementation of a Voltage Control for a Multiterminal VSC-HVDC Offshore Transmission System

Agustí Egea-Alvarez (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain), Fernando Bianchi (IREC, Spain), Adria Junyent-Ferré (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain), Gabriel Gross (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain), and Oriol Gomis-Bellmunt (Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain)


Improving Ranking of Electric Power System Dynamic Behavior in DSA System by Applying VSC Based HVDC Technology

Cuong Nguyen Mau (Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany), Ngoc T. Trinh (Siemens, Germany), Krzysztof Rudion (Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany), Edwin Lerch (Siemens, Germany), and Zbigniew A. Styczynski (Otto-von-Guericke University Magdeburg, Germany)


VSC-HVDC Link to Support Voltage and Frequency Fluctuations for Variable Speed Wind Turbines for Grid Connection

Ronan Meere (Athlone Institute of Technology, Ireland), Mark O’Malley (UCD, Ireland), and Andrew Keane (UCD, Ireland)


An Analytical Method for Probabilistic Load Flow Applied to Multi-Terminal HVDC Networks for Offshore Wind Farm Integration

Emanuele Ciapessoni (RSE, Italy), Diego Cirio (RSE, Italy), Andrea Pitto (RSE, Italy), Stefano Massucco (University of Genova, Italy), and Federico Silvestro (University of Genova, Italy)


Power Flow Participation by an Embedded HVDC Grid in an Interconnected Power System

Anne-Katrin Marten (TU Ilmenau, Germany) and Dirk Westermann (TU Ilmenau, Germany)